Chichester observer dating

The name derives from the Kingdom of Sussex, which was founded, according to legend, by Ælle of Sussex in AD 477.In 825, it was absorbed into the kingdom of Wessex and subsequently into the kingdom of England.William Hallett founded Kemp Town Brewery and built St John the Baptist RC Church in Bristol Road.

Barnes, James David Francis, CBE, chief executive officer Zeneca Group, for services to the pharmaceuticals industry.Berry, Professor Michael Victor, FRS, Royal Society Research Professor, Bristol University, for services to physics.Brown, William, CBE, former chairman of the Scottish Arts Council and of Scottish Television, for services to the arts and to broadcasting.Grade II* listed is the oldest in the city, probably dating from the 12th century with a 13th-century tower and medieval decorations..Between 18 the parish was merged with Portslade, the two having been held together from time to time since 1523, then returned to its former status as a parish in its own right. Scenes for the 1909 film The Boy and the Convict, directed by Dave Aylott for Williamson Kinematograph Company, were filmed in the churchyard, which includes the graves of Samuel Augustus Barnett and his wife Dame Henrietta Barnett.